List of Gluten Free Foods
Being on a diet isn’t easy, especially when going on a gluten-free diet, which can be confusing and daunting, which is why I’ve put together this list of gluten free foods to help people out there who are confused about what to eat, and to make the best decisions possible when shopping while on the diet.
We tried to keep everything as simple and as comprehensive as possible, but please, if we have forgotten anything on this list of gluten free foods, let us know, just shoot us an email.
We hope you find our gluten free foods section informative.
Nature provides us with everything we need, especially sources that are grown organically and in this case, the sea. We can’t mention this enough, avoid all seafood that is cultivated in farms and fed food that contains wheat.
Your best choice when it comes to seafood is to choose anything preferably caught fresh and from the wild such as:
Meat and poultry
As far as meat and poultry go, there aren’t a lot of limitations.
You can eat the following that does not contain a sauce or marinade that contains gluten, try to choose free-range and grass fed:
- Eggs (pastured/omega-3 enriched eggs)
Vegetables and legumes
On a gluten-free diet, try to go after vegetables and legumes that are fresh, and opt for organic as there are fewer pesticide residues, but it is entirely optional since studies show that both non-organic and organic vegetables contain the same nutritional values.
You need to eat vegetables every single day because there is no better food group that matches our daily human needs, not legumes, grains, seafood, poultry, meat and even fruits cannot match up to it’s potential.
Below are some options for you to include in your cooking arsenal, although there are many other vegetables and legumes that you can add, whether frozen or canned will depend on your choice.
|Leeks||Beans (All forms of plain beans)|
|Scallion (Green onions)||Lentil|
|Beets (Beetroot)||Green Beans|
|Swiss Chard||Field Pea|
|Spinach||Mexican Black Bean|
|Brussels sprouts||Pinto Bean|
|Collard Greens||Red Bean|
All root vegetables
Grains, Nuts and Seeds
The goal here is to go after plain nuts, seeds, and especially grains, not roasted or flavored. Do not buy from bulk bins due to the high possibility of cross-contamination from other food sources that contains gluten.
As far as grains, seeds and nut go, not all are naturally gluten-free so watch out and do your research for the ones that are not listed below and even then, careful with cross-contact.
If you’re unsure whether or not they are gluten-free, call the company or ask the seller to verify.
|Grains (Read below)||Nuts||Seeds|
|Quinoa||Brazil Nuts||Chia seeds|
|Buckwheat (It’s gluten-free)||Macadamia Nuts||Hemp Seeds|
|Millet||Pine Nuts||Sesame Seeds|
|Oats (Read below)||Walnuts||Sunflower Seeds|
|Rice (Brown or white)|
Be extra careful with oats, they are frequently contaminated with wheat, especially due to cross-contact during processing.
Check the labels to identify if the grains is, in fact, gluten-free as there have been researches proving that many naturally gluten-free grains can quite often contain gluten due to cross-contact with other grains, either through harvesting or processing.
Bread and flour
Wheat flour is used mostly used for bread making, but also from rye, barley, and other gluten-containing grains.
It’s hard to find gluten-free bread at your local market; you’re better off baking it yourself or buying it online.
There are gluten-free bread mix to buy online as well to make your life easier.
For flour, you can either ground it yourself from all the gluten-free grains, nuts and even seeds or you can buy online just as you would the bread or the mix.
Below are the safe gluten-free bread and flour list that you can get yourself without worries.
I choose Bob’s Red Mill since they’re well known, but keep in mind that there are many other suppliers out there that are just as good and trustworthy.
Opt for fresh fruits, and avoid canned or fruits in containers.
Most often, canned and fruits on containers are gluten-free but are subjected to gluten contamination from other food sources, especially from markets that cut them up in the deli section.
It’s best to stick to plain fruits, but if you buy canned fruits for its ease or whatever reason, make sure to only purchase from suppliers that are safe.
- Passion fruit
Milk whether whole, lactose-free or low-fat and general dairy products such as cheese and yogurt are naturally gluten-free, the issues come when they have gluten-containing ingredients, so it’s imperative to read the labels when it comes to dairy and gluten.
Go for organic dairy products.
Another thing is, like fruits, vegetables and many others that are naturally gluten-free, most will be not be labeled as “gluten-free”.
Another interesting point is that there is clinical research showing that high levels of Gliadin, a protein component from Gluten passes through to a mother’s breast-milk. If your baby has a gluten intolerance, then it can cause some problems. 
When it comes to cheese products, in most cases they’re gluten-free, but you must be extra careful with the ones that contain certain preservatives (processed cheese), and ingredients like spices that may have gluten, you will have to read the labels.
Here is a list of some gluten-free milk that you can enjoy.
|Unflavored Plain Milk|
|Silk Vanilla Soymilk|
|Silk Almond Milk|
|Almond Breeze Almond Milk|
|Pacific Natural Foods Soy Milk|
|Almond Dream Almond Milk|
Beverages and Drinks
As far as fruit juices, as long as they’re made from 100% fruit then it should be safe. The problem begins with “juice drinks”, which normally contains many added ingredients (which can contain gluten) and just a small percentage of the actual fruit juice.
The list below will guide you into what beverages are safe to drink.
I’ll be aiming for the most popular. If I’m missing any that you think should be included in the list, please don’t hesitate to contact me.
|Bottled Juices||Sodas (Read below)||Sports/Energy||Alcohol||Tea|
|Fruit Juices||Barq’s root beer||Powerade||Rum||Green Tea|
|SoBe||Pepsi||Gatorade||Vodka||Unsweetened Iced Tea|
|FUZE||Sprite||5 Hour Energy||Wine||Lipton Tea|
|IZZE||Sunkist||Monster Energy||Arizona Iced Tea|
|Dole Juice||Mountain Dew||Red Bull||Iced Tea|
|Mott’s Juice||Fanta||Rockstar Energy|
|Sunny D||Dr. Pepper||AMP Energy|
|Snapple Juice||Coke/Coca-Cola||HiBall Energy|
|Welch’s Juice||Sierra Mist|
|Kool Aid||Mug Root Beer|
|V8 Juice||A&W Root Beer|
Bad news for beer drinkers on a gluten-free diet. Just about all beers are off limits as they’re made with barley, hops, and ingredients that aren’t gluten-free.
Even beer that has been processed to remove gluten from barley are not gluten-free, there has been a huge problem when it comes to this matter. Some beer companies state that they’re able to produce beers that contain less than 6 ppm.
When it comes to alcoholic beverages, you can enjoy all distilled alcohol as the gluten is removed during the distillation process. Just be careful of added ingredients after distillation, as it will no longer be gluten-free, but this does not happen often.
All the sodas listed above are considered to be gluten-free up to 20ppm.
Spices and oils
Pure spices and herbs do not contain gluten, although gluten-containing agents can be added with wheat starch and flour, not only that they are prone to cross-contamination during package processing.
Spices, in general, are pretty easy to spot if they aren’t gluten-free, but to make things easier, all pure and plain spices that are not mixed with other ingredients are gluten-free (so you’re safe with other spices that aren’t included in this list). Once mixed during processing, it is now called what we know as seasoning, which quite often does contain gluten.
A few of the known gluten-free safe spices and cooking oils are listed below.
|Aloha Spice Company||Olive Oil (Pure olives)|
|Spicy Gourmet||Canola Oil|
|Tsp Spices||Soybean Oil|
|Spicely Organic Spices||Vegetable oil|
|Sea salt||Peanut oil|
As you can see, being on a gluten-free diet is not as easy, one must be worried about every little thing they eat. I’ve put a list of things to watch out for.
- Read the labels. It’s crucial to always check the package that you’re buying for extra ingredients that might contain gluten.
- Always check for the gluten-free label. In August of 2013, the FDA regularized the gluten-free label to assure that the product is safe to consume. Manufacturers are accountable and must comply with all requirements of the regulation.
- Eating out. Eating out can be limiting, but not impossible. If possible, check with the chef for gluten-free options in case they don’t offer any in their menu.
- Medicine/Medications. Although not food, but certain medications will contain gluten so double check before purchasing.
When done right, living the gluten-free lifestyle doesn’t have to be very hard, or restrictive, but it can be fun and delicious. Again, if you believe something is missing in the gluten free food list, don’t hesitate to contact us.
Remember always to seek the healthiest food, because we are what we eat.